Cee’s Fun Photo Challenge: Water

Cee’s Fun Photo Challenge Badge

042114 cffc

 

CIMG4895

CIMG4891

I love the sea. I’ve probably taken more photos of the sea than of anything else! I love these pictures because they capture foamy and furious waves near the shore. There I am mesmerized by the view…
They were taken in the seaside town of Santander in the north of Spain by the Cantabrian Sea which is a gulf off the northeast Atlantic Ocean. The original Cantabri were a pre-Roman Celtic people who lived in the Peninsula known as Hispania from the 4th to late 1st centuries BC. Regarded as savage and untamable mountaineers, the Cantabri warriors defied the Roman legions although they were finally Romanized.
Even today they are known for their independent spirit and love of freedom, like the waters which mercilessly beat against their shores… My ancestors were born there, and some of my close family still live there, so I can vouch for their courageous and independent nature… perhaps I have even inherited some of these characteristics myself!

By the way, my WordPress profile picture was taken there, too!

http://ceenphotography.com/fun-foto-challenge/ Drop by and have a look at the other entries!

 

 

 

Published by LucciaGray

Writer, blogger, teacher, reader and lover of words wherever they are. Author of The Eyre Hall Trilogy, the breathtaking sequel to Jane Eyre. Luccia lives in sunny Spain, but her heart's in Victorian London.

3 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Photo Challenge: Water

  1. My pleasure Cee! Thanks for organising the challenge! I live inland (most of the time) but I try and get to the beach as often as I can, which is not often enough!

    Like

Thanks for reading, feel free to like, share and comment!

Discover more from Rereading Jane Eyre

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading